9. Too cute to Blog: Ducklings

Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overloadI’ve got (at least) two so called weak spots:
One is a bizarre attraction towards all that shines.
I’m an easy victim for vendors selling way too expensive, but beautifully twinkling fake bracelets and I easily spend my last money on hideous kitsch junk in the Christmas section of Walmarts.
My kingdom for a little Blingbling.

My second weakness concerns all fluffy and / or plushy animals.
Baby Ducks,-kittens, monkeys and baby foxes … I just can’t help myself ….

While my fellow photographers are photographing the really cool things, such as courting harriers, fighting god wits and barn swallows in flight, I’m studying…ducklings

The main reason for my fascination with this new born baby animals is their naivety.
While adult animals learned to fear us human beings (and right they are!), the youngsters still have this open minded and curious attitude.

At a certain point I had nine ducklings wiggling around me, one exploring my lens and another one trying to eat my shirt.
Too close to take pictures, but too cute for words.

It took a while to convince the suspicious mother, but she finally accepted me.
At the end of they day she was so used to my appearance that she felt asleep beside me while the youngsters were fooling around.
As if she was thinking: Oh well…if you’re here anyway, maybe you can do my job…….:D

Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Reflections
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Duckling on a Water Lilly Leaf
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Running Duckling
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Racing Duck
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Mirrored Ducks
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
High Speed Duckling
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Spread that Wings and Fly
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Got a Whole lot of Living to do
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Jumping Duckling
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Cute Overload
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
Built for the Kill
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos Mallard duckling baby cute overload
CamoDuckie
9 thoughts on “9. Too cute to Blog: Ducklings

  1. This is totally delightful. Lucky you to have them trust you like that. The image are stunning. I’ve been chased off by a duck looking after their young – they can be very vicious. Guess you are a duckling sitter now. I wonder if they were attracted to all the blingbling?

    Really enjoy your blog 🙂

    Cheers
    Robyn in NZ

Leave a Reply

