4. Waxwings Revisited

It doesn’t happen that often in life that you get a second chance when you blew your first.
And in this case it wasn’t even me who blew it, but the bad weather that did it for me…
But…to put it shortly: I got my second chance to photograph the gorgeous waxwings under better circumstances, yay!
(click to view larger)

Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
Choices.....
Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
The yellow...or the red..?
Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
Waxwings enjoying the berryparty together...
Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
Waxwings in conflict
Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
Berry Happiness
Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
Waxwing with a yellow berry...
Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
Keeping an eye on the enemy (Sparrow Hawk)
Bohemian Waxwing Bombycilla garrulus Pestvogel
Waxwings...gotta love these crests...
10 thoughts on “4. Waxwings Revisited

    1. Hi Robyn,

      Most of my bird and wildlife shots are taken with a Canon 300mm F4.0 (eventually in combination with a 1.4x converter)
      It’s a great lens, but a bit short for bird photography. (the alternative, a 500mm is a bit too expensive though)
      For wildlife I sometimes miss the zoom, in rare cases that an animal comes to close.
      For that reason I bought a 70-200 F4.0 recently.
      But overall I would certainly recommend it….

      Grtz,
      Roeselien

    1. Yeah…waxwings in the garden that would be fantastic…
      These weren’t actually in my garden…I had to travel 1,5 hour to find them. But I was happy when I did šŸ˜‰

      Tnx & have a nice day,
      Roeselien

  1. OOOOOOOOOO i had a bird that I couldn’t identify this one is the closest so far, but the bird in question matched everything but the dusky peach/rose colors…more just blues and blacks…like a jay but not as bright, the body of these matches pretty well in hues

    are there other ones that match this cardinal-like crown thing(can you tell i only watch birds, not yet knowing what to call bird parts or to describe them well)

    1. I do know something about birds, but without a photo it’s hard to identify.
      Plus the fact that I’m not so familiar with ‘foreign’ birds šŸ˜‰
      I hope you will find out what kind of bird it is…..

Leave a Reply

